After waiting three years for the follow-up to Kaledioscope Dream, R&B phenom Miguel finally released Wildheart!

The album debuted at No. one on the R&B albums chart, selling 41,000 copies in the first week.

With an album comfy at number two on the Billboard Hot 100 chart, the 29-year-old singer has been in the news after a recent interview with the Sunday Times had him feeling himself and taking shots at Frank Ocean—who won Best New Artist Grammy over Miguel and rumored to be releasing a follow-up album of his own soon.

“I wouldn’t say we were friends.” Miguel said about Ocean. “To be completely honest—and no disrespect to anyone—I genuinely believe that I make better music, all the way around.”

Op! Miguel Later also added: “It’s interesting, but we’ll see who’s in it for the long haul. It’s like a marathon, you know?”

With controversial album artwork—reportedly inspired by LSD— with something like a cloudy sex orgy going on in the background, let’s see what these vocals do!

Here’s every track on Wildheart, ranked! 

12. “…Going to Hell”

When you love someone and don’t care about what it could mean for the future, sums up “…Going to Hell.”

“Going to hell, I know, I know / I don’t care, I’m in love / I’m going to hell with you.”

11. “FLESH”

What’s an R&B album without the obligatory baby-making track?

“FLESH” is one of two songs on Wildheart you can add to the “Bae Playlist.”

“Flesh, I’m addicted, yeah / I mean it, I’m a mess now / I’m a slave to your flesh / Woman put me right where I belong.”

10. “Waves”

An uptempo track about well, sex. But the song does a good job of disguising that because you’re too busy moving to the beat.

“Don’t stop, I wanna ride that wave / All night, I wanna ride that wave.”

9. “The Valley”

And here’s another track for that “Bae Playlist.”

“I wanna fuck like we’re filming in the valley / I wanna push and shove and paint your hills in the valley.”

Doesn’t look like this is about a mani/pedi, but we’ll take it!

8. “Face the Sun” featuring Lenny Kravitz

With help from from one of the most iconic and sexiest rockers ever, “Face the Sun” reassures a woman she is the only one.

“You shouldn’t have to worry ‘bout someone new / Cause no matter where I go, you know I belong with you.”

Awww! Well isn’t that precious?

7. “Leaves”

A song about heartbreak, Miguel sings he never saw this breakup coming.

“Eager waves keep on crashing, you say that it’s over / How could it be over? I never saw it coming?”

Oooh! We’ve all been there, huh?

6. “A Beautiful Exit”

The opening track is meant to be inspirational and reinforcing ideals of trust and throwing society’s conventional thoughts out the window.

“Ignore the planned conventions of society / The muted world doesn’t dream in colors / No fear, no shame, wildhearts can’t be broken / You’re here for a reason, you know.”

5. “DEAL”

The song made for two-stepping and could easily fit on Pharrell’s GIRL album, this track will remind you of old-school songs, but let’s hope this ends up without a Marvin Gaye family and career-ending lawsuit. Hi, Robin Thicke.

“When you’re ready, come and get me, I’m on Capitol Hill
Before I show you the money, let me spot you the bill.”

We’re here for chivalry, Miguel!

4. “What’s Normal Anyway”

Growing up Black and Mexican, Miguel felt that he never fit in with the other kids in his neighborhood.

“Too proper for the Black kids, too Black for the Mexicans / Too square to be a hood n****, what’s normal anyway?”

“Too immoral for the Christians, but too moral for the cut-throat/
Too far out for the in-crowd, what’s normal anyway?”

3. “Hollywood Dreams”

“Hollywood Dreams” laments on people who latch on to anything to make their dreams come true in Tinseltown.

“And we could be better than heroes, baby / We can fly higher than spaceships, baby/ Girl, you’re looking at the magic man / I could make it all happen / Lost Hollywood dreams.”

2. “Coffee”

The first single from Wildheart, “Coffee” finds Miguel expressing the connection he has with a young lady which always leads to coffee in the morning due to “extracurricular activities.”

“I wish I could paint our love / And moments in vibrant hues / Wordplay, turns into gun play / And gun play turns into pillow talk / And pillow talk turns into sweet dreams / And sweet dreams turns into coffee in the morning.”

We’re ready for our cup!

1. “NWA” featuring Kurupt

By far the fan favorite and standout track, Miguel pays tribute to his West Coast roots with some assistance from fellow West Coast MC, Kurupt.

We know Miguel’s always down for the ratchet as evidenced on, “How Many Drinks?”

“NWA” praises the women who want to have fun and mess with a real G, and is right on time for that biopic directed by F. Gary Gray!

“She just wanna have fun / She just want a wild n****, right now / She just wanna f*ck crazy / She just wanna f*ck till she can’t move no more / She don’t wanna fall for me.”

What’s your favorite track on Miguel’s Wild Heart? Sound off!

Brittney Fennell

Brittney Fennell

Brittney is the Associate Editor of Jawbreaker and a writer who has goals to disrupt culture in ways unseen.